Want views — write about hot and controversial topics.

Victor Ronin
2 min readMar 30, 2023
Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

Just a short retrospective post.

I started to write this blog about 1.5 years ago. More than 100 stories have been published. Zero dollars earned (this blog was free and will stay free).

And it’s curious to see which stories hit it big while others had very mild success.

Two stories which completely knocked it out of the park:

Both stories are about hot topics (ChatGPT and Twitter). Both stories had quite extreme and controversial points of view. Add a pinch of luck to the mix, and boom (you got tens of thousands of views)

Multiple stories did quite well:

And interestingly, all of them are pretty much in the same category. They are all related to software (engineering, business). And they touch on some highly emotional subjects. And probably have some level of controversial view (so they are not bland as oatmeal).

And the next category is articles that I thought would have the most views. They contain tons of valuable information and lessons for which I paid by tears and sweat. I call them $1M dollar lessons (pretty much accumulations lessons for success and failures over several decades of my career).

Some of them did ok, but a lot of them ended up with meager views.

And finally, there is one more category. Once in a while, I touch upon some philosophical subject. Man… people in my network hate philosophy :) I am lucky if they get to 100 views.

Here are a couple of examples:

Time to go and meditate on that.

Photo by jose aljovin on Unsplash

--

--

Victor Ronin

Entrepreneur, manager, software engineer. Contact me at victor.ronin at gmail.com. LinkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/victorronin/