We are launching Vuala in Product Hunt (!!)

Victor at vualapp.com
4 min readNov 19, 2023

In this article you will find (1) the reasons why we want to launch in Product Hunt and (2) the small contribution you can make that will boost your karma. 🚀🌐

Here I go:

On 17th November 2023 we decided we had to launch Vuala on Product Hunt, aka PH.

Why? Basically, we needed feedback that we weren’t getting in Spain:

  • 🌍 Is the problem we are solving a global pain in all markets?
  • 💡 Is our tech approach the best solution for the problem?
  • ⏱ Is the B2B SaaS sales process faster or slower in other markets?

Despite 50+ interviews with users and tech-savvy folks in Spain, I’ve not been able to have a clear answer to these questions.

So, we’ve set the launch date for Tuesday 12th of December, 12:01 am Pacific Time. Less than a month away.

We know people recommend a three-month prep, but I can’t wait that long. I want to launch before Christmas and have time to prep and get feedback afterward.

Why Product Hunt?

I’ll be honest; launching Vuala on Product Hunt scares me a bit.😬

If you’re not familiar, Product Hunt is an online community where the best products on the web get showcased daily, thanks to user votes.

What I really like personally, is that it is different from the usual way companies talk about their products. Instead of fancy advertising, it’s more about being real and genuine.

The products that are being launched there are so f*** good. Slack, the app many of us love, ranked 🏆 #15 for the Product of the day and #81 for the Product of the week in its last launch. Imagine the competition.

Last Friday, I counted 154 product launches. On a Friday. Now picture Mondays. Every day, all weeks of the year. You’ve got to be exceptional to stand out.

I would say the winners get normally around 1,000 upvotes from the community.

Are we ready to launch in Product Hunt?

Of course, I don’t feel ready to launch. But I think I’ll never be too prepared or too good as the other product launches I’m seeing. Everyone is killing it. But I’ve been told not to focus on others, just us.

I say to myself; “Hey, you’ve got paying users, you are already adding value to companies, maybe you might have something good here. Let’s see what the PH community says”.

I’m excited. So I decided to continue with the launch. 💪

My fears (yes, in order):

I launch Vuala on PH and…

  1. … no one sees the product. I can take nothing away from the launch except a huge deception that I have not prepared properly the PH pre launch.😔
  2. … the community sees the product but I have no upvotes, comments, or engagements. My takeaways then: (a) My product might not be interesting enough or isn’t solving a pain for the community. (b) I may not have provided a clear description of the product on PH, leaving people confused about what we are doing.🤷‍♂️

How can you help?

We’re not sure what fancy perks we can offer in return for your help. No free motorcycles (we wish) or Black Friday discounts here.

Apart from a massive THANK YOU; we’ll boost your karma, and you’ll sleep happier tonight.💤

We need your help to reach out to more people when we launch. More people means more feedback. The more upvotes our product gets on Product Hunt on December 12th, the better. To make it happen, we’re calling on friends, friends of friends, users, and investors for a little support (at least two weeks before 12th December 🙏, otherwise, you will not be able to upvote).

Vuala PH teaser

Product Hunt Daily Digest newsletter has more than half a million readers. It gets delivered every weekday and includes the previous day’s top 10 most upvoted products. Top 10 is our goal!

  • Sharing or reposting this post on LinkedIn can make a big difference🌐. Ah, and don’t forget to follow on our LinkedIn page. 😅

We will be preparing for the launch during the next weeks. Happy if anyone wants to help out :)

Massive THANK YOU!

Victor

--

--