CS 373 Fall 2021: Victoria Hall

Victoria J Hall
2 min readOct 2, 2021

Blog #6: Week of 27 Sep — 3 Oct

What did you do this past week?

This past week was really hectic for me. I attended several events at the Grace Hopper Convention, had my first exam for Algorithms, and submitted and presented a paper for my anthropology course. With everything going on, it was hard to find free time to relax, but I’m glad that I was able to stay on top of studying and my class work.

What’s in your way?

The main things in my way right now are all the online assessments from companies that have accumulated recently. I wasn’t able to complete many this past week, so I definitely need to spend some time this weekend to finish and submit them.

What will you do next week?

This upcoming week is a lot less stressful, which I greatly appreciate. I have a couple interviews, but my class work load is much lighter compared to this past week. I plan on acing my interviews (fingers crossed), finishing phase 1 of the project, and getting started on the next phase of the project.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #6: Single Responsibility Principle?

I recently finished the paper. I’ve never heard of Single Responsibility Principle before, but I thought that it was a really interesting concept. The paper describes how separating responsibilities and designating them to individual classes can be a difficult mindset at first, but it logically makes sense and often happens naturally. I know I have a habit of making classes overly complicated at times, so I will definitely keep this practice in mind and work to improve on that.

What was your experience of factorial, reduce, and operators?

I thought that it was really interesting to see the different ways that these methods could be implemented and see how those different implementations affected the function’s efficiency. Particularly, I wasn’t familiar with the reduce function previously, so it was neat to learn more about it.

What made you happy this week?

I was really dreading this week since I had a lot going on, so I’m glad that I was able to get through it and feel good about my exam, paper, presentation, and interviews. I also tried Bubble Egg, which is a dessert shop close to my apartment, for the first time this week, and I really liked their ice cream and waffles.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to use Google Calendar on your computer and / or the Reminders app on your phone. Especially when you have busy weeks, it’s important to keep track of class times and important deadlines, and these apps have definitely helped me stay on top of my work.

--

--