Connectivity in Our Digital World

Victoria Dinov
4 min readApr 26, 2022

--

Connectivity

In our modern society, globalization and communication seem to be expanding hand in hand. Increased globalization has led to increased communication methods, and vice versa. In a paper recently published in the Social Science Research Network, researcher Aldilla Purba said, “Global communication is directly affected by the process of globalization, and helps to increase business opportunities, remove cultural barriers and develop a global village.” These increased opportunities have been incredible for our businesses, social, and commercial worlds.

Connectivity in our global world remains crucial, and communication technology is what makes this possible. According to a study led by Translational Psychiatry, social isolation due to Covid-19 augmented many people’s mental health struggles. Yet, in the face of it all, our ability to connect with others via telephone, computer, Internet, etc. allowed us to remain a part of our connected world and still foster relationships — even if we could not meet face to face. According to a study by Pew Research, more than half of teens have made at least one friend online, with 65% of those teens making more than five friends online. Digital connectivity has allowed people to connect with similar interests and hobbies from around the world, and has truly allowed humans to branch out from the confines of their geography.

Evolution

Communication technology has evolved rapidly in the past few years. Yet, we expect many more changes to come. In a study by BBC, it is noted that people believe wearable technology, such as smart watches and google glasses, will encompass the next wave of technology. People want to become more connected, and they want to use communication technology to connect with each other.

Potentially, rather than calling or texting friends far away, wearable technology could allow people to experience real life events together while still remaining miles apart. Imagine calling a relative on the opposite side of the world and being able to experience an amusement park ride with them, get coffee with them, or even play interactive games with them. The future of communication technology is limitless, and with continued innovation, it can create even more connectivity than ever before.

Communication Technology

My personal favorite forms of communication technology are my phone and computer. The versatility of both to assist me in my social and work life has allowed me to virtually complete all of my daily tasks.

During the shutdowns of the Covid-19 pandemic, my phone was my best friend. It allowed me to connect with my friends through calling and facetime, post memes and old images on my social media platforms, and browse information sites on social media to expand my knowledge. Never had I used social media for more than publicity, but soon, I was finding information, friends, inspiration, and more on all of my platforms. This sort of communication helped me connect more to the people around me and also fulfilled my daily life.

Nowadays, my computer has become my new best friend. Working virtually, I have been able to utilize my computer to improve my business, my work, and my life so that I have the opportunity to spend more time with my family. It has also helped me find the resources that I need to be successful in my work. One incredibly helpful resource has been FindAnsweringService.com, which has helped me hire live answering services to take inbound calls. This has been essential during the pandemic, when callers were calling at all hours of the day. Another incredibly helpful tool has been Time Doctor, which has allowed me to have virtual helpers in several different locations to be able to easily collaborate with each other.

Conclusion

All in all, this digital world has increased my ability to connect with others, build my business, and achieve my goals. Communication technology has the potential to transform our lives even more, and I cannot wait to see how it does.

P.S. Know your rights as a consumer and understand the most important consumer protection laws here!

--

--

Victoria Dinov

Economics, Data Science, Sustainability, Energy Systems + Travel, Running, Climbing, Skiing = UC Berkeley Alumn & aspiring change-maker