Creating A Speech & Debate Brand in One Month: Week 3

Victoria Richard
2 min readMar 22, 2020

--

For the month of March, I have dedicated myself to developing a portfolio of hard and soft skills such as time management, website building, design, content creation, writing copy, and social media management. To accomplish this I created a project to learn and develop these marketing skills.

For my project, I am focusing on content creation and building a social media calendar. I built a website and Instagram account advertising competitive speech and debate tools and resources. It also focuses on encouraging speech and debate competitors to focus on the long-lasting outcomes of competition more than the fleeting satisfaction of awards. I illustrate this by writing copy on the website home and about pages. It is called The Unbeatable.

In the third week, I got back on track making progress surpassing the first 2 weeks. I set up my social media calendar first using google docs then Social Sprout to automate posting on social media. I did this to practice my design skills and copy wring for the post captions, advertising on the upcoming website.

I designed the website using WordPress, which proved challenging and will be up within the week. With the help of templates and tutorials, I got the hang of it.

At this point, the page is bland and uncolorful because I was mainly focusing on the rhetoric of the homepage instead of the design. Next week I’m going to be diving deep into playing around with the design. Below is the “Before” snapshot of my website home page, keep following along for the “After” snapshot.

Refocusing last week has proved effective and I am en route to complete my project on time.

--

--

Victoria Richard

I am a fiction writer, performer, teacher and speaker. I endeavor to write creatively and speak effectively.