Creating A Speech & Debate Brand in One Month: Week 2

Victoria Richard
2 min readMar 15, 2020

--

For the month of March, I challenged myself with a project to build a portfolio of skills and experiences so I can create value in my workplace. It is week 2 of this project and it has already proved challenging. A few setbacks have crept up on me and I had to learn to adjust.

I am focusing on content creation and building a social media calendar for my website I have named The Unbeatable which provides encouragement, advice, and resources to students competing in speech and debate. I’ve been advertising this upcoming website on the Instagram account I made for it.

Some skills I’ll learn (and already learning) from this project are time management, website building, design, content creation, writing copy, and social media management.

I mainly focused this week on reworking the original plan and researching social media calendars. I looked into what they look like, websites for making them, what they’re used for, and how to make them creative.

I will use a social media calendar tech tool called Sprout Social to help me organize my posts and the dates I plan on posting them. I’m using Canva to design my posts. I also plan on posting an article every week on my website The Unbeatable.

In week 2 I learned how to adjust my focus, overcome setbacks and to be active in finding a solution so I don’t waste valuable time.

In week 3 I’m going to work double-time get back on track.

--

--

Victoria Richard

I am a fiction writer, performer, teacher and speaker. I endeavor to write creatively and speak effectively.