Photo by Matheus Bertelli from Pexels

How to know if you’re ready to date again

Victoria M

--

My 2020 resolution was to take the year off from dating. I had been mostly disengaged all 2019, after 2 years of feeling disappointed and degraded by Tinder, Bumble, Match.com, The League, Hinge, Coffee Meets Bagel, and my own friends’ attempts to set me up. When previously I’d been going on 2–4 dates a month, I’d gone on less than 1 a month all year. The only results I had produced were stressing myself out. So, I quit.

And then the pandemic hit, and I was convinced that people would have to be more open to getting to know me if they couldn’t fuck me immediately.

I was wrong. The COVIDiots were everywhere. I went on a couple of Zoom dates but they didn’t get off the ground, and honestly, I was just thankful that I’d gotten to do them from the comfort of my own home instead of wasting time travelling to a bar and paying for overpriced cocktails to talk to someone that I didn’t click with.

Now that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel- a vaccine- I’m considering getting back into dating later this year when the time comes. I really, really like being single right now, but I also miss being in a relationship at the same time. I am not eager to jump in headfirst all over again, but being not ready has made me think about what would make me feel ready to start dating again.

--

--