When it seems you no longer find strength within, it is time to look above and beyond yourself.

Obukomena Victor
3 min readMar 20, 2021

I look up to the mountains; does my strength come from mountains? No, my strength comes from God , who made heaven, and earth, and mountains.

Psalm 121:1‭-‬2 MSG

https://bible.com/bible/97/psa.121.1-2.MSG

It would seem there is so much to make the heart faint into today's world, so often it's one terrible turn or just a cheer lack of funds. It seems to hit differently every time. There are indeed down moments, and sometimes one doesn't feel like carrying on. Self doubt creeps in, one doesn't know if all he once believed still holds true and one wishes he could quit.

In all, we must find strength to go on and that is a mighty challenge on its own.

Firstly, I do not come bearing all the answers. I think that sometimes I find solace in the fact that we all face our dark days. It seems subtly comforting that I do not go through this alone, we all do. Whether it is from a failed goal, an unplanned happening and so forth, life does seem to bring its own form of challenge.

I have learned to look beyond me when I feel empty. I may be quite an optimistic person indeed, but I've had my days. Looking beyond me is simply finding hope and some sort of explanation that I'm going to get pass this. Here's what I find myself doing. I may go online and search out a teaching, a thought, something that has the potential to spring hope within me. When those things were said, they were real and they still are, even though my current circumstance doesn't reflect it.

I have earmarked certain scriptures that tell me what I am in Christ (good Christian thing to do). I try to look at them and remind myself of when I discovered them and how they really helped me.

I think that circumstances creates a certain blur that tends to make us not feel strongly about things the way we usually do when those circumstances are behind us. It's sort of a mirage, you think it's there but it isn't. Only in hindsight do you realize that it was all a prop.

I'm really hoping to encourage someone out there that it isn't the end of you. There is hope. If you are a Christian then you must hold on to God. I know my redeemer lives. If you are not, well I invite you to give Jesus a chance in your life. It would all make sense.

It has to make sense in the end. I’m quite certain of it. We have to become people who can move past the present pain, pressure and situation and see beyond the now.

Look above friends.

Written with all the love I can muster.

--

--

Obukomena Victor

I find writing a very relieving channel for clearing your thoughts and giving you foresight. I'm no expert, just sharing my heart