Kode With Klossy Summer Program 22'

Vidhya Lakshmi
3 min readNov 5, 2022

--

I got selected as a KWK Scholar in 2022 and earned a golden opportunity to attend the summer program.

A 2 week long daily zoom gathering, it was with fun intended and great learnings.

So before sharing my exposure, let me give a piece of detailed information if you’re wondering what Kode With Klossy is and what it is doing?!

What is Kode With Klossy?

Kode With Klossy creates learning experiences and opportunities for young women that increase their confidence and inspire them to pursue their passions in a technology-driven world.

Programs were of different categories which included Data Science, Web Development, and Mobile App Development.

Who can apply?

This is a free two-week summer program for young women and non-binary individuals ages 13–18. You’ll be taught no matter if you’re a newbie or a full-fledged hacker.

The scholarships are provided for anyone who’s passionate and interested in learning a new superpower.

The application usually opens at the start of April, stay tuned by subscribing to the newsletters of the official KWK website or by following their socials.

https://www.kodewithklossy.com/

So as soon as I saw an update on my Instagram feed about the KWK application openings, I started with the application and submitted it within the timeline putting out my best in the essays that have been asked for.

Waited for the result then came to a huge surprise in my inbox stating that I got selected as a scholar of KWK 22'. That’s huge right?! Even I couldn’t get over it.

Then there were a few welcoming procedures that I was to follow, and every process was notified via the slack channel. They’re around 200 scholars who got selected from all around the world to attend the summer program including me.

The program started in the mid of July 2022. Whoah!!! Thankfully my exams got over and I was able to be active during the whole camp.

The first day of camp was fabulous and meeting the other scholars was the best part in the breakout rooms :)

Was able to interact with Karlie Kloss 😍

Continuing with the first day, the following weeks were really lovely starting with the orientation, daily study, to-do lists & breakout rooms fun tasks with each given fellow mates. That was huge than I expected. Everything was covered from basics to advanced level with plenty of useful resources and guidance by the mentors 🥰!

The weekend was a big bang announcement making us do a project with the theme and teammates allotted.

We’re able to brainstorm and gather some great ideas that we’d make to put our best into it. The followed up days of the week were with the presentation of our project idea to the house and what problem we planned to solve.

Feedback has been given by fellow housemates, which is amazing.

Then came the final day of the Demo and Graduation Ceremony. The last day 😭, yeah it was.

House D 8
House D 8

My favorite part of the whole camp was the different theme backgrounds for each house. I miss that. But to the point, it was a wonderful experience.

After this, we’re added up to the Alumni community to connect with and share a lot more opportunities around.

--

--