Why I want to write about how to design good products

Vida Zhang
1 min readNov 2, 2021

--

Intro to the How to Design Good Products series

When I joined Facebook as a product designer four years ago, I quickly realized that I got a lot to learn. There’s a gap between what’s taught in my design program and what’s practiced in the UX industry. My previous internships were at small companies, so I didn’t have much mentorship.

Over the years, I’ve heard and observed similar issues from other designers who were just starting out, or have been running a one-man/woman show at small companies. Truthfully, most product design learnings occur on the job and from others. But if you’re not surrounded by many other designers you can learn from, the scope of your learning might be limited, regardless of how talented and driven you are. This series of writing intends to bridge this gap, with practical product design tips.

Whether you are a design student or new to the field, a solo designer, or a design enthusiast who wants to learn more, I hope you find these writings helpful.

Follow me on Medium for more hands-on product design tips. If you don’t want to miss updates, subscribe to the newsletter here.

--

--

Vida Zhang

👩🏻‍💻 Product designer @ Meta, currently working on Messenger. 📝 Write about no-frill design tips.