What does Seneca say?- Part I

Vidhya
2 min readSep 23, 2021

--

Photo by Giammarco on Unsplash

Lucius Annaeus Seneca the Younger (c. 4 BC — AD 65),[1] usually called as Seneca, was a Roman Stoic philosopher, statesman, dramatist, and in one work, satirist, from the post-Augustan age of Latin literature.

This is what Wiki says about him. There’s this certain urgency about knowing him now if anyone has not heard of him yet (which I doubt, anyone hasn't) .

Of course I haven't read all of his works, but maybe I can share a few that have made me wonder about the beautiful world of philosophy and stoicism.

If I may quote one, taken down from Daily Stoic, “We are not given a short life but we make it short, and we are not Ill-supplied but wasteful of it.”

Most of the people are working from home now, being flexible with timings able to juggle office work and house work, blah blah blah.
But how much time are we giving ourselves? Are we really living?Can we sit quietly at one place without our mobiles/laptops screaming for our attention and we giving in?

The answer is “NO” and its true for me as well as for few others (as some people claim that they are introspecting and stuff).
We think we all have time to spend it lavishly, with everyone working from home as the commute time is reduced and all that.
But we are more bombarded with emails/messages now than the pre-pandemic era.

I had to install an app to take care of my screen time, and then I needed to monitor this app’s notifications/entries as well to keep checking how much screen time I was actually doing per day.
So nothing worthy coming out of this.

Also I am not sure I can meditate as its really difficult to sit quietly at a place and pay attention to our breath, though it sounds and looks easy.
Then I thought about reading.
Who better than the Stoic Guru Seneca, well I really cant read his works that well as I am not that advanced a reader.
But I do keep reading about him in few blogs/sites. In future posts I will share a few to help you’ll in this journey too!

Till then, stay stoic!

God bless us all.

P.S: If you liked this post, please bring those hands together and clap for me [ or click that icon right there :) ]

--

--

Vidhya

I write because that's the only calm in the chaos.