Vidyadhar Prabhudesai
4 min readSep 8, 2019

EURO and an Indian Dream

The United Nations (UN), World Economic Forum (WEF), World Bank - I use these names when I am conversing with my clients or whoever I meet every day. They have become integral part of my life and I carry them everywhere. While I was on my onward journey to Geneva, I started looking back. I had heard about WEF or UN for the first time when I was in the second year of my college. I had even asked my economics professor if he knew anybody there and could possibly refer me since I was curious of getting a job there. Though I never got a chance to work there, I am happy that I am associated with these organisations.

Two decades later, I receive an invite from WEF to attend Global Shapers Summit between August 30th - September 1st 2019. Though my association with WEF is almost a decade old, I had long waiting period. The excitement and curiosity was so huge that I ended up over-packing and carried heavy luggage along, It was my first trip to Europe though I transited a few times from there. My perceptions about Europe and Switzerland were that of an average Indian, mostly what is depicted by Bollywood movies. Upon my arrival, I was completely amazed by the opportunities it has created. My aspiration rose by then and I had started dreaming even bigger.

I had arrived few days ahead of the main event in Geneva, a place which is headquarter to 40 international institutions 260 permanent missions and more than 3,000 meetings hosting 2.5 lakh annual delegates from around the world. The city also offers free public transport for visitors – bus, trams and boats throughout your stay, I made most use of it. I fell in love with the city the moment I was at Geneva lake. While my most evenings were at leisure, I use my day time to meet new clients, explore new opportunities and improve existing client relationships. My early days in Geneva made me familiar with the European culture.

Ahead of the summit, I participated in learning journeys and events organised by the Global Shapers there. As a part of this journey, I had visited UN and European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) offices. For me, this was once in a lifetime kind of experience. The history and mission of these organisations is so great to give anyone goose bumps. Amidst of these activity, I took out time to visit Annecy, old town in France known for its historical beauty and crystal clear lake.

Back in Geneva, the subsequent day was the opening day of the Global Shapers summit where 400 young leaders from 150 countries were meeting at WEF headquarters – all interested in shaping our future and improving state of the world. These young leaders or Global Shapers represented 400 different cities and cultures, came from diverse backgrounds- innovators, entrepreneurs, artists, activists and educators. They came there to discuss the theme “Leading for Impact”, exchange ideas, drive actions and collaborate with each other to address local, regional and global challenges. Throughout the three days of the event these leaders shared their experiences and learning in managing projects in their hubs / cities. Further these projects were clustered into three impact areas – climate change, education & employment and equity & inclusion. These leaders also participated in leadership and skill development workshops conducted by experts. As founding curator of Thane hub, I committed that our hub would focus on climate change and education & employment impact areas.

The summit opened a lot of doors to unlimited opportunities in terms of networking with leaders, learning new skills, collaborating on projects and building long lasting relationships. Whatever I have learned there I am defiantly would apply to my both personal and professional life. I had most fun time in Europe – visited 3 countries, 6 places and spent 9 days. I and hope to make it big.

Vidyadhar Prabhudesai

Co-Founder at LeadCap| UN, Ford, IPL Fellow| Founding Curator Global Shapers, WEF|Global Changemaker| Board Member IFSPD| Thunderbird, IIT Delhi, Aegis| TEDx|