Community bonding: GSoC 2024 with OpenMRS -1

Vijay KV
2 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Greeting everyone!

My GSoC journey started with the community bonding period. This summer I was selected to the Google Summer of Code to work with OpenMRS. My community bonding period starts on the 1st of May. I’m going to share my community bonding experience through this and I’m going to briefly explain what I’m going to do in this GSoC period.

On Week 1 We had a fun time breaking the ice and setting the vibe for a summer of coding fun with the OpenMRS team.

The session was filled with enthusiasm and a sense of camaraderie, which is crucial for building a successful team. It’s also fantastic to see that the OpenMRS community is committed to making the GSoC experience the best it can be for everyone involved.

On May 7th, I had the opportunity to attend the Google Summer of Code — Contributor Welcome Talk, which was Organized by Google. It was a wonderful experience , a community with over 800 contributors.
It’s inspiring to see so many people coming together to contribute to open-source projects, and I am sure to learn a lot from fellow contributors.

After a productive session, call was concluded on a positive note, with everyone feeling cheerful and satisfied.

See you in the next one!
Cheers

--

--