GSoC 2024 with OpenMRS : Week 03

Vijay KV
2 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Hello Everyone 👋

It is the third week of our coding period in GSoC 2024. In the previous week, I started working on implementing the help component at the end of the second week. You can read the past week’s blog post here. In this blog post, I’ll be sharing the experience of the third week in GSoC 2024.

I got to get completed the help-menu component and raised my second PR. you can view it here :

This adds a boiler plate to a new esm module named esm-help-menu-app in the openmrs-core.

Implementation of Help Menu

On weekly call, along with my mentors, grace also joined in and gave feedback that we can have a onboardings for both beginner friendly tutorials and name specific. We discussed more about the project, updations. Also she said she would be helping out me with the Onboarding steps :)

Later My Backup mentor Jayasanka had laid down me a set of tasks for a sample walkthrough in home page. So that would be my next week’s priority along with few refactoring as per some suggestions in the PR’s. I’m also going through the docs of import-map-overriders and extension -systems which later needs to be implemented for this project.

With that, the third week of coding ended. I’m looking forward to add each modal for the sub help menu items.

Stay tuned for the week 04 updates. Don’t forget to check out my other articles as well.

See you guys at the next one :)

--

--