Behind the Working of Music Search Apps Like Shazam: Create Your Own Music Search App

Vikas Kumar Ojha
The Startup
Published in
10 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Photo by Marcela Laskoski on Unsplash

Ever wondered how your favorite music searching app works?. Well, this is the correct place to find out.

Ever since I was a kid I was both a music and tech lover. I spent most of my day listening to music and reading about technology. Sometimes I listened to some new song playing around me and I liked it. I wanted to play it but not always Google search was enough to find the song. Then came the Shazam app and it was a great gift to me at the moment. After finding some of my favorite songs playing around, my tech lover side kicked in and wanted to find how it works. After some research, I found out that it uses Machine Learning for music match. After doing more research I got hold of the concepts. Which later motivated me to share the idea with other people as well.

So here I am presenting you with brief insights into the concept behind music match apps like Shazam. Here we will build a simple prototype of the music search app using Deep Learning. By the end of the article, you will have complete intuition behind the music search apps.

Some basic concepts

Short Time Fourier Transform

The Short-time Fourier transform (STFT), is a Fourier-related transform used to…

--

--