LastPass CSV Export Doesn’t Work (And How to Fix It)

Viktor Nagornyy
2 min readJan 27, 2023
LastPass Screenshot

If security breaches aren’t enough, LastPass has a broken export function, making it nearly impossible to leave.

Many LastPass users migrating to other password managers will be missing passwords, notes, and other data they were storing in LastPass.

While migrating from LastPass to 1Password, I realized that the CSV file LastPass exports is incomplete.

While exporting 174 entries, the CSV file only contained the first 17 entries. That’s 157 passwords missing!

I tried exporting several times; it’s the same thing every time.

This applies explicitly to the LastPass.com vault accessed in your browser. On Reddit, I’ve seen someone mention the app might work. I don’t use it, so I don’t know. I’ve accessed the vault in the browser.

The export function in question can be accessed in your vault on LastPass.com by going to Advanced Options > Export.

Access LastPass vault.

Complete Export

--

--

Viktor Nagornyy

📈 Marketing consultant. 14 years helping biz generate leads & sales. Open source advocate. Sign up for my marketing coaching newsletter ➡️ inboundmethod.com/m