How would you like the Harry potter story … but with Hagrid as the main Character ?

Vilius Kukanauskas
6 min readJan 26, 2023

--

Probably everybody knows at least the main story of the Harry Potter sage. If I'm totally honest, I was not always not always fan of his behavior, and often liked other characters more.

Today I used ChatGPT to tell me alternative possibilities of the book.

At the beginning, is asked the bot if he is familiar with the book and its characters at all.
My first prompts were just to check, if ChatGPT also knows the book.

Do you know the first book about harry potter ?

The first book in the Harry Potter series is “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone,” which was published in 1997. It was later released in the United States under the title “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone."

After making sure that it also knows the main characters I asked him to summarize the book into a plot, but from the perspective of Ron.

now write a plot fir this book, but this time use Ron Weasley as the main character, and write the plot from his perspective, making him the main character.

“Ron Weasley and the Philosopher’s Stone” is a story about a young boy named Ron Weasley, who discovers on his eleventh birthday that he is a wizard and has been accepted into the famous Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Ron, who comes from a long line of wizarding family, is excited to start his journey as a student at Hogwarts.

As Ron begins his first year at Hogwarts, he meets Harry Potter, a boy who has been living with his Muggle aunt and uncle, and Hermione Granger, a brilliant witch from a Muggle family. Together, the three of them quickly become best friends and start to uncover the mystery of the Philosopher’s Stone, a powerful and ancient artifact that has the power to grant immortality.

Ron, being the most experienced among his friends in the wizarding world, becomes the leader of the trio, and together they must overcome many obstacles and challenges, including a fierce three-headed dog, a deadly chess game, and a treacherous potions master, all while trying to keep the Philosopher’s Stone out of the hands of the dark wizard Lord Voldemort.

Throughout the story, Ron learns to believe in himself and to trust his friends and the power of friendship, as well as the bravery he didn’t know he had. He also learns more about his family and the wizarding world, which he thought he knew so well.

“Ron Weasley and the Philosopher’s Stone” is a story of adventure, friendship, and self-discovery, told from the perspective of a lovable, relatable and brave character who will capture your heart. With its mix of magic, mystery, and action, this story will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end.

I was skeptical when I red the line about Ron being 11 years old, when he discovered that he is a wizard, that was fitting for Harry but not Ron. The rest was okayish.

Now I wanted Hagrid :)

Now write an story from the perspective of Rubeus Hagrid. Make a plot for his book, create his adventure line for the book, that happens in the same time as “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” story line is happening. Use all the scenes, where Hagrid had important interactions with harry and his friends from the real book.

I am Rubeus Hagrid, Keeper of Keys and Grounds at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. I have always loved my job, delivering the acceptance letters to the new students of Hogwarts. It is always a joy to see the excitement and wonder on their faces when they receive the letter and learn that they are a witch or wizard.

But on one fateful day, I was tasked with delivering a letter to a boy named Harry Potter. I had never heard of him before, but I knew that this delivery would change my life forever.

As I approached the small shack where Harry was living with his Muggle aunt and uncle, I couldn’t shake off the feeling that there was something special about this boy. And I was right. As soon as Harry opened the letter and learned that he was a wizard, I could see the wonder and excitement in his eyes, but also a hint of fear and confusion.

I knew then and there that I had to protect him, to guide him through the wizarding world and make sure that he had the best chance to succeed. So, I took Harry to Diagon Alley and helped him get everything he needed for his first year at Hogwarts.

We had a grand adventure, riding on my flying motorcycle, and I could see Harry’s excitement grow as he discovered the magic of the wizarding world.

I actually got curious and wanted to start reading the book :D So I asked the bot to actually write the story, instead of simply summarizing it.

now write the very first dialogue that Hagrid had with Harry. Also include Harries family in it.

"You there, boy!” I bellowed as I approached the small shack where Harry Potter lived with his Muggle aunt and uncle. “Harry Potter?”

The boy, who had been sitting on the front steps of the shack, looked up at me with wide eyes. “That’s me,” he said, sounding a bit unsure.

“I’m Rubeus Hagrid, Keeper of Keys and Grounds at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry,” I introduced myself. “I’ve got a letter here for you. It’s from Hogwarts.”

I handed Harry the letter and waited as he opened it and read its contents.

His aunt and uncle, who had been watching from the doorway, looked on with confusion and suspicion. “What is this nonsense?” the uncle said, but Harry was too engrossed in the letter to pay them any attention.

“I-I’m a wizard?” Harry stammered, looking up at me with a mixture of awe and wonder.

I grinned down at him, feeling a sense of pride and excitement. “That’s right, Harry. And you’re coming to Hogwarts with me.”

“Hogwarts? What’s that?” asked Harry’s aunt, her eyes narrowing.

“It’s the best wizarding school in the world, and Harry here is going to be a student,” I explained, trying my best to be patient with the Muggles.

“I-I’m going to Hogwarts?” Harry said, his voice filled with wonder and excitement.

“You are, Harry, and it’s going to be the adventure of a lifetime,” I said, clapping a hand on his shoulder. And with that, I led Harry on his first step towards his destiny as a wizard.

I gonna be honest with you, after i post my experience here, i am gonna let the bot write me the story even further :) And i am looking further to another stories, where i could repeat this experiment. What about lord of the rings, but the entire story from the eyes of Gollum ? Matrix, but told by agent Smith ?

Btw, as little bonus, here the dialogue start from Hagrid and Harry in style of Snoop dog :)

“Yo, what’s good, Harry? My name’s Hagrid, but you can call me Big H,” I said, as I approached the young wizard. “I got a letter here for you, straight from Hogwarts, the illest wizarding school in the game….”

--

--