Routine! Routine! Routine!

Vince Fabra
2 min readMar 31, 2016

--

Day 123

Today is March 31, 2016.

The Presidential Election of 2044 is on November 8

(10,449 days from now)

Routine! Routine! Routine!

That is easily the greatest lesson I’ve learned in the last 123 days. Routine is also the most significant factor to my increased productivity and success over the last four months.

I’m learning that “discipline” is a daily choice that can be challenging. While “routine” is second-nature and requires little-to-no self-convincing. Don’t get me wrong, these two themes work in tandem. It’s difficult to have one without the other, but a healthy routine is just the evolution of staying disciplined.

Early on in this process, I sat down with a pen and a blank sheet of paper. I asked myself the question, “What does my best possible (most productive) day look like?” I began to budget the most high-performing day I could think of. I considered the obvious responsibilities and included seemingly insignificant details. For me, this is the “gold-standard” of days. If I could string together 10,000+ days that looked like this, maybe I could be POTUS in 2044!

Of the past 123 days, not many have followed this model perfectly. Some haven’t even been close. Whether it be laziness, business or randomness that pulls me away from this gold-standard, I have identified a few “nonnegotiable’s”, meaning these things MUST get done every single day.

I might not get to everything everyday, but there a certain things that must get done everyday.

In no particular order, I have identified my current “nonnegotiable’s” as…

  1. Email inbox to zero.
  2. Fitness activity.
  3. Post a blog.

What does your “gold-standard” day look like?

What are the “nonnegotiable’s” that you will commit to every-dang-day?

Personally, the power of routine has helped begin a transformation over the past 123 days. Hopefully, this concept is helpful to you. Maybe one of your “nonnegotiable’s” is to read this blog everyday. I’ll be sure to post one everyday… and that’s nonnegotiable :)

--

--

Vince Fabra

Just a common guy with a 28 year-long plan to become President of The United States. I hope to earn your vote on November 8, 2044. #Fabra2044