Personal update: moving on from Kima Ventures

Vincent Jacobs
2 min readJan 29, 2018

--

This is an email I sent out to the Kima portfolio founders.

Dear Kima founders,

I hope you had a good break over the holidays and are looking forward to what lies ahead in 2018.

It has now been 4.5 years since I started working at Kima Ventures and the time has come for me to move on to something new.

I’ll be leaving you in the very capable hands of Alexis, Eléonore, Jean and Rose who I know will continue to do an excellent job managing Kima going forward and continue to find new and better ways to support you as you build your companies. We made 100 new investments in 2017 and Kima will keep investing at this pace, backing even more great founders all over the world.

When Jeremie brought on Michel and me in 2013, the portfolio counted 170 companies and everything was being managed in spreadsheets. Today we’ve made close to 600 investments, seen many huge companies grow and have built out some of the best tools in the industry to manage and support these companies.

I’m proud of what we’ve built and it wouldn’t have been possible without the founders that we serve. I’d like to thank you all for the opportunity to work with you and for letting me join you on your journeys.

I’ll continue to manage anything currently in-progress and, as always, you’re welcome to reach out to anyone on the Kima team anytime they can be useful. But, if there’s anything that you would like me personally to help with going forward, I will continue to be available to you whenever you need me, for as long as you need me; feel free to reach out directly at any time at [email] or call/WhatsApp [phone number].

For anything practical that you need from Kima (approvals, signatures etc.), please use your [email] address and it’ll be taken care of quickly.

As for me, I’ll be around for a little while longer but then I’m going to take some time off and work on my own projects before deciding what I’ll be doing next, which will certainly still be in the startup space.

Feel free to reply with any questions or comments.

Please do stay in touch and thanks again for everything,

Vincent

Partner, Kima Ventures

--

--