Is Michael Easton Leaving General Hospital?

GOURAV
2 min readJun 26, 2024

--

The residents of Port Charles are in for another big change. Michael Easton, the beloved actor behind Dr. Hamilton Finn, has announced his departure from General Hospital. In a heartfelt video shared on social media, Easton revealed that he has filmed his final scenes for the show.

Easton’s announcement came with a touch of his signature charm and sincerity. “I’ve always been partial to the Irish goodbye,” he began, referring to the tradition of leaving a party without a formal farewell. “But I thought you all deserved better. So I just want to let you know that I just filmed my final scenes here at General Hospital.”

Reflecting on his decade-long journey, Easton expressed his gratitude to the cast, crew, and fans. “I’ve loved every minute that I’ve been here,” he said. “I want to thank the entire cast and crew for allowing me to share their stage these past 10 years. Most importantly, I want to thank all of you for the kindness and love you’ve shown me and my family. I won’t ever forget you. And as I walk out of here for the last time, and with apologies to Lou Gehrig, I feel like the luckiest man on the face of the Earth.”

Michael Easton’s career in daytime television is nothing short of illustrious. He first captured audiences’ attention as Tanner Scofield on Days of Our Lives from 1991 to 1992. However, it was his role as the enigmatic vampire Caleb Morley on the GH spinoff Port Charles from 2001 to 2003 that solidified his status as a fan favorite. He later transitioned to One Life To Live, portraying Detective John McBain until the show’s conclusion in 2012. When OLTL ended, Easton brought McBain to General Hospital, delighting fans with the crossover.

However, due to legal complications, GH had to phase out the OLTL characters. This led to Easton taking on the role of Dr. Silas Clay in 2013. After Silas’ dramatic exit in 2015, Easton returned as Dr. Hamilton Finn, a character that quickly became integral to the show’s storyline. His portrayal of Finn earned him a Daytime Emmy Award nomination for Outstanding Lead Actor in 2018.

With Finn’s current storyline hinting at a stint in rehab, it appears the character will soon be leaving the canvas. Easton’s emotional video was recorded after he wrapped up filming his final scenes last month, though the exact date of his last appearance on GH is yet to be announced.

As fans come to terms with this news, we can all look back on Michael Easton’s contributions to daytime television with admiration and gratitude. His talent and dedication have left an indelible mark on General Hospital, and his presence will be sorely missed.

Originally published at https://gmsrentertain.com on June 26, 2024.

--

--