Image by KamranAydinov on Freepik

Embracing Ramadan Day 28: Cookies, Presents, and a Touch of Farewell

Getting Ready for Eid Al-Fitr Part 3

Insan
3 min readApr 8, 2024

--

It’s already Day 28 of Ramadan! The days have flown by in a cycle of pre-dawn suhoors, work with heat, cleaning and painting the wall in the afternoon, the iftar dessert, dinner and heartfelt taraweehs. Today, the excitement for Eid al-Fitr is starting to crackle in the air, I’ve seen and heard the “firework test” in the neighbourhood and somehow the entire road since the excitement for Eid can’t be hidden anymore.

This morning, we compiled the stack of cookies from the boxes, counted each variation and put them in the cookie jar. We also put the beverages together and started shaping the living room for the guests. The kitchen also becomes busier as we prepare spices to use on the morning of Eid. It’s been a long and surprisingly short month.

As I place each cookie, nuts and chips, some chocolate and fruit, I get reminded of everything that I do for the whole month. I start with whether I lose weight because of fasting or how my habit changes. I got reminded of the funny moment, the heartfelt moment and the hardship I encountered. Then my mind wanders to deeper thought. Did I pray with enough focus? Did I truly connect with the Quran? Did I extend enough kindness and compassion? Did I become a better person after all this?

I look at the faces around me, I wonder how they feel. Does a similar sadness tug at their hearts? Or are they focused on the excitement of Eid? Were they also have this worry? or they were sure of their gains in this Ramadan.

As I ponder these questions, a wave of gratitude washes over me. Gratitude for the blessings of Ramadan, for the spiritual growth it fostered, and for the strengthened bonds with family and community. Look at me, doing cleaning, painting and preparing food with my family. I count that as a blessing provided by the Holy Month.

Suddenly, a small lesson from my grandmother pops into my mind: “We don’t mourn the end of a sunset, for we know it will rise again as a sunrise.” Ramadan may be coming to an end, but its lessons and blessings will stay with me.

Taking a deep breath, I focus on the present. The cookies are cooling, and the gift-wrapping paper looks neat. Eid may mark the end of Ramadan, but it also marks a new beginning. A chance to celebrate, to connect with loved ones, and to carry the spirit of Ramadan forward.

Perhaps, instead of mourning the end, we can celebrate the lessons learned, the bonds strengthened, and the spiritual growth achieved. A single word echoes in my mind: InshaAllah (if God willing). May the lessons of Ramadan stay with us, may the spirit of Eid fill our hearts with joy, and may we all find the strength to carry the blessings of this holy month forward, throughout the year and beyond.

Day 28 Ramadan 1445 H

yesterday’s story here: Embracing Ramadan Day 27: Paint The Wall

  • 📜I am planning to do 30 Days writing for the entire Ramadan Month
  • ☕ If you enjoy my writing and want to support me, you can Buy Me a Coffee here.

--

--

Insan

Trying to find my place in the world. Additionally, I can write you a short story in exchange for a coffee. Support me in Kofi https://ko-fi.com/insavi