A transforming reality — Udacity’s Self Driving Car Nano-degree

Vishal Rangras
3 min readJan 15, 2017

--

When I applied for the 1st intake (only 250 Students’ strength) of Udacity’s Self-Driving Car Nano-Degree program, I wanted to get admission into it so badly. I was counting the days, daily checking the website and my emails for the update. And when I received the invitation to the program, that was really transforming for me. It was a hope of research-oriented career for me. It was a hope of following my passion. I was also expecting a scholarship along with the admission, though. Belonging to an Indian lower middle-class family and only earning member in the family, I could have never imagined of pursuing a highly research oriented program such as Udacity’s Self-Driving Car Nano-degree of my own. I earn in Indian currency and that too very low, where the fee of Nano-degree program is in USD. In the universe where I could hardly make money to provide bread and butter for my family, I could not dare to think of pursuing my research dreams and spend my time and energy in learning what interests me, what drives me, what motivates me. I needed that scholarship but unfortunately, those were limited in number and I couldn’t make the cut. My dream got shattered and it was beyond my imagination that someday I could even work on cutting edge technologies I have always dreamed of. I was not happy in just dreaming about what I want to do. I actually want to learn these technologies, pursue my dreams and do innovation in the world of Artificial Intelligence and Autonomous Vehicles.

I was so much into this program that I started talking about it with senior folks at my workplace. They encouraged me, supported me and appreciated my love for the technology and research. They got interested in knowing more about the program. They got stunned about this state-of-the-art program and they wanted to help me pursue my dream of research. They extended a helping hand to me by arranging an online fundraiser to support me. And people came to my rescue. The initial supporters as well as their generous friends joined the cause and stood up to provide me a financial support in form of a loan. I would like to share happily with you all that till now, I have arranged INR 1,00,000 ($1467) through this fundraising/lending campaign. Although, I am still looking for the lending help for the remaining amount. Back to the story, I applied for the 2nd intake of SDC program and I got the admission. Yesterday on Jan 14th, 2017, I paid the fee for the 1st term of my SDC Nano-degree program. I am really excited about it and looking forward to the program to get started and take this thriving opportunity.

I am really thankful and grateful to all the supporters who have come forward and extended their love and helping hand for making this a real possibility for me. It is a dream coming true. I am also grateful to Udacity for creating such a platform for students of different origins, financial backgrounds, diversities, all of which having one thing in common — Passion and Love for the Technology.

Being Udacious.

--

--