Type Design Journal — Part 8

Vitória Neves
3 min readJul 27, 2017

--

I finally took the time to write again :) While my font Kamila (the one I have been journaling about) is in the process of being released on MyFonts, I started working on another typeface.

If you know me just a tiny little bit, you knew that my next typeface would be a script. I love the challenge of designing a script. First I thought I should make something easier without having any connections, but then I started working on it and ended up making them anyway. This one is a semi-connecting script though.

My goal with this typeface is to create something casual yet bold. Something that might be used in logos or packaging, posters, headlines, etc. to create an impact, to stand out.

It is called CoolKids, because I think that this name suits the idea of what I want this typeface to be. It wants to be popular and to stand out, to be cool and to belong to the popular ones, in other words, the cool kids.

This script is still in it’s beginnings, so a lot can change along the way. I did all the basic lowercase and started working on the uppercase. I don’t want to make the same mistakes again, so I want to expand it only when I feel that I’m 100% done with the design of the basic characters. Well, I will probably never feel 100% OK with it, because there is always something that can be refined. Nevertheless, when I started Kamila I expanded it right away and had to change many things way to many times. I can’t tell how many times I redid the connections and other things.

However, below you can see the lowercase.

It’s not properly spaced or kerned yet as you might notice. There are still some characters I’m not happy with, which need some more attention. I also need to check if things like slant, weight, etc. are good.

Next, you can also see some words with some of the uppercase I did so far.

I’ve been enjoying myself a lot with this. It always amazes me how much fun this is to me. I feel I will never get bored as long as I’m designing letters.

--

--