CS 373 Fall 2021: Blog #12

Vivian Ta
2 min readNov 15, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I met with my group to discuss phase 3 of the project. We created and assigned new issues. I implemented searching, filtering, and sorting for the cities and will update our backend unit tests as well as the layout of the city model page as needed.

What’s in your way?

I’m learning how to use new tools and technologies, which is taking some for me to get used to, but it’s been really cool to implement them and see our project come together.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will attend the live zoom lectures and start working on Phase 4 of the project. This will include refactoring and refining our existing code, creating three visualizations of our website, creating a presentation, and creating three visualizations of our provider’s website. My group and I will also meet soon to discuss our progress.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #12: More Getters and Setters?

I thought paper #12 on More Getters and Setters was interesting to read. I liked how it was tied in with the other principles we’ve read about, like OCP. I learned that design patterns like Builder can provide ways to limit the scope of get/set methods while also improving the program’s structure and maintainability. Additionally, you should have existing objects with the necessary data do the work for you, rather than asking the data to do the work. This makes the code less complicated to change and takes out implementation assumptions.

What was your experience of cross join, theta join, and natural join?

I enjoyed this week’s lecture on cross join, theta join, and natural join. I think that they would be useful when working with large sets of data and I like how simple the code can be. I also liked that we had two exercises this week on cross join and theta join since it gave us a chance to actually think through the functionality of the operations and implement them.

What made you happy this week?

I tried out a new vegetarian recipe and it turned out really good.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week: I worked on implementing sorting and filtering this week and I found this page on SQLAlchemy filter operators that helped with combining multiple columns.

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/sqlalchemy/sqlalchemy_orm_filter_operators.htm

--

--