A Surprising Way to Improve Mental and Physical Health

Valerie J. Brooks
4 min readApr 11, 2020
writing in purple ink with a purple pen across the page

A few years ago, I told my husband that I needed to improve my health with more time at the gym, walking, and taking more dance classes. My gym had plenty to offer, but I live twenty-four miles out of town. My work as a writer takes place most of the time at home. Every time I plan on a trip to the gym for a one-hour class, I can use up three hours by the time I work out, shower, dress, do a few errands, fill up with gas, and pick up a few groceries. During the winter, outdoor activities in Oregon are limited for me, although I can walk or follow dance videos at home.

After three weeks passed, I’d added nothing as my work didn’t allow it. Frustrated, I felt like a failure.

Does any of this sound familiar?

Photo by Danielle Cerullo on Unsplash

Often we think of improving our physical health with activities like running or Zumba, and our mental health with meditation and yoga. These are healthy goals as long as they are not adding stress to your life.

That’s when I found a 2005 study on the emotional and physical health benefits of expressive writing.

--

--

Valerie J. Brooks

Author of femmes-noir psychological thrillers. Loves family, travel, art, MM, people, dance. Lives a truthful, full, amazing life. www.valeriejbrooks.com