Evernote is moving to Europe.

In a recent blog post, Francesco Patarnello, Evernote’s CEO, wrote: “most of our operations will be transitioned to Europe”. In my opinion this is an important move. No pun intended.

Vladimir Campos
1 min readJul 9, 2023

--

For starters, there’s the time zone problem. I live in Europe, and there is only a small window of time I can use to speak with east coast American and Canadian clients and companies who would like to do business with me.

I usually schedule calls for the end of my day, which is when they start their day off. In my case, the interaction is limited to a few hours, yet consider leading a team of developers who are located nearly 10 hours away from you. In other words, I believe this will bring a lot of efficiency to maintaining Evernote and developing new features.

I am truly impressed by their ability to successfully navigate this long-distance issue thus far.

Although the blog post doesn’t specifically address what will happen to our data currently stored in the United States, I hope that it will be part of the move, specifically because of GDPR. Stacey Harmon and I talked about this in a conversation we had a while ago.

--

--

Vladimir Campos

I help entrepreneurs build mindful workflows using a system based on Agile and Kanban, which I have perfected for over a decade. vladcampos.com/about