Obsidian’s new editor is a big step in the right direction

As a user, I enjoy Markdown. However, as an instructor, I almost hate it. Most of my clients find it challenging to understand and use, especially in a world where every basic text editor has a formatting bar.

Vladimir Campos
4 min readJan 3, 2024

We, the Markdown enthusiasts, see it as a great invention, and it is, but it is meant for people like us. My first computer was an Apple II+ where I learned to write programs in Basic. If you are a Markdown lover, I bet you have a similar background or passion for technology. But how many people do you think there are like this in the world?

The good news is that the Obsidian team seems to be steadily figuring out a way to allow users to pick their preferred text formatting method without any hassle.

What is Markdown?

It is a set of characters used to format text in compatible editors. For example, if you put one asterisk on each side of a word or sentence, the Markdown editor will show it in italics. So, to use it, all one has to do is memorize all the symbols and use them in a compatible editor. Since there are not a lot of formatting options and, at the same time, many compatible editors exist, dominating and…

--

--

Vladimir Campos

I help entrepreneurs build mindful workflows using a system based on Agile and Kanban, which I have perfected for over a decade. vladcampos.com/about