I could never use a task manager. Then I found this way

Vlad Naiman
10 min readMay 27, 2024

--

I have always found it hard to write down the tasks and follow them in a task manager.

Before

When I was in my 20s, in the early years of my career I always thought that I would just remember everything I should do. I always ended up with a lot of things swirling in my head or on the contrary a lot of things getting out of my head.

Then I met my girlfriend (who after several years became my wife). She was a task-tracking maniac. She used a regular physical notebook as her task manager. She kept this notebook close to our dining table and she always checked this notebook the first thing when she got home. She always opened a notebook and wrote tasks for a certain date.

However, when I started working on writing my PhD thesis and trying to balance it with my personal life — that was the time when it hit me, that random sheets of paper with tasks written on it don’t work for me anymore. Before that all the time when I needed to focus on tasks I just jotted them down on a piece of paper, in the notebook, or on sticky notes.

When the pandemic hit us productivity became a strong area of interest for me. That was the time when I realized that all the random techniques that different managers recommended me at work, or I read in various time management…

--

--

Vlad Naiman

👨‍💻Management Consultant | HR professional | Productivity enthusiast ⚙️ PKM geek 🧠