I love taking notes. Here’s how I do it

Vlad Naiman
9 min readApr 14, 2024

Note-taking is probably one of the most important skills we can develop, no question about it. I still can’t believe they don’t put more effort into this stuff in schools. Seriously, why isn’t note-taking a mandatory class?

Since 2014, I’ve been working in consulting and HR. Let me tell you, meetings are my bread and butter, and good notes are the difference between gold and…well, nothing.

Imagine when you work as a consultant, you have a meeting with the CEO, and you ask them a series of questions. You can’t afford to lose that information — clear, well-organized notes keep it all readily available for your projects, saving you tons of time and frustration. It is essential to keep this information available, clean, and structured to use it further in your projects. You don’t want to lose it, and you don’t want to come to the CEO again to ask the same questions.

Some time ago, I worked at a startup as an HR business partner. As a BP, I needed to keep track of many things and ensure that I didn’t miss any important information received from our team members and key stakeholders. I had plenty of meetings: one-on-ones, group sessions, brainstorming sessions, and workshops. Each conversation contained a ton of important information that needed to be captured, processed, and utilized effectively.

--

--

Vlad Naiman

👨‍💻Management Consultant | HR professional | Productivity enthusiast ⚙️ PKM geek 🧠