Vladyslav Kay
1 min readApr 12, 2018

--

I’m sorry to disagree with the article — you’re basically discouraging people from “thinking”, pushing the notion that “thinking” doesn’t mean “knowing”. Which is true, but you neglect to mention that “not thinking” definitely means “not knowing”: my chinchilla is “aware” of me opening the cage and cleaning it, but he doesn’t “think” much, so he doesn’t “know” what it is that I’m doing. So what good is awareness without thinking? We may be using different terminology here, but to me “thinking” is a fundamental function of the brain, and one cannot, by definition, arrive at any conclusions without going through some thought process… After reading the article, I wonder if you truly understand what introspection is, even though you seem to be writing a lot about it. Why, for example, does there have to be judgement? What’s preventing me from analyzing my words or actions, understanding the reasons and motivations behind those, and accepting my behavior for what it is? Or taking a step further and suggesting to myself alternative actions that yield a better outcome for myself, so that next time I’m happier with how things play out… Bottom line is: where are you going to end up on your “self-awareness” journey, without having a single thought in your head? Deeper yet: are you an advocate for self-improvement at all? Because I’m catching a drift of “you are great the way you are, don’t think much about anything, just discover yourself and make peace with that”.

--

--