We have no idea what apps actually cost to create.

“So how much will this app cost me?” I don’t know.

Vlad Lokshin

--

I get that question a lot.

I get that question so often that I wrote an article titled “How much does an app cost? About as much as a car” almost a year ago. To my surprise, the post went mini-viral. Within weeks, the post was read tens of thousands of times, retweeted by a couple of tech celebs, and even translated into a few other languages. To date, the post has been visited 37,467 times.

I don’t bring up numbers to gloat, but only to recognize that I was not the only one who had trouble figuring out the accurate cost estimates behind an app. I think that question mark has only inflated since, for myself included.

Less than a year later, I have to say the details in those estimates were wrong. Well, the answer of “it really depends” was correct, but the relative figures were low.

Here’s a snippet:

“I want something that works well on one platform” = 2007 BMW 335i = $20-25K.
You want something solid that’ll work web/ mobile web / iOS / Android. Just one of those. It doesn’t need to be the most beautiful thing in the world, but you need it to be solid through one medium. It’s realistic to pay 20K+ for something like this.

“I want something that works on anything” = Audi Q7 = $50-75K. You want a solid app that’ll work on web/ mobile web / iOS / Android. You want to cover all of your bases, but you don’t need to be awesome in one specific concentration.

If I had to run those numbers again, the single-platform app would cost 100-150K. The “works on anything” app would cost 200-500K+. Why? Because a single platform app requires a backend to store content, an API to talk to the app itself, an admin (likely web) platform to manage users and content, and then the design, development, and thinking behind the app itself. Then, you have to test everything. Then, you iterate around the mistakes (in planning/product or in actual code). Oh, and should we start thinking about analytics, marketing, and virality?
This kind of work quickly grows beyond 1000 hours, and tech shop rates are usually 100-250$/hr
note: these are based on United States rates in a major metropolitan city

But my real answer to “How much will this app cost me?”
I don’t know.

The thing about an app that doesn’t exist yet is that it doesn’t exist yet.

Your idea will change over time, and other factors (some outside of control, some within control) will change. If I were to give you a really good estimate, I’d have to study your (or your organization’s) working style, personality, and a few other factors. Then, we’d have to spend countless hours figuring out the exact requirements, expectations, platforms. Even after we planned everything, an iOS 7 announcement might decide to come out and change your plans out of nowhere.

Shit will always happen. That’s just how life works. Creating an app is no exception to that rule.

The thing is, big companies understand the ridiculous growth behind mobile and the remaining untapped potential. For example, Facebook has likely invested hundreds of millions (likely billions) into their iPhone app, and everything that goes in to power it. These popular apps have level-set the general expectation behind the quality of design and development of apps to be very high.

So what can you do?

First, find an organization (or individual) that you can trust. This is really important. Since you’re part of the 99.99% of the world who has never taken something from an idea to a tangible product (not in part, but in whole), you’re not going to know what it’ll take to create it to your standards.

Next, come at them with a budget. The people behind great products tend to be very logical thinkers. If you can establish trust, they’ll be able to figure out how to maximize product value out of your investment.

Last, think through as much of the product as you can, and do as much market research as you can before you even start designing or developing. There’s no clearer sight into the creation of an app than a customer willing to give that app his/her time or money. I tend to think products are made to fix problems, so I recommend focusing on what problem(s) you’re attempting to fix, for who, and how you can reach those people.

Oh, and if you don’t know how to wireframe really well yet, learn it. Pencil and paper is fine. A difficult to understand transcription of the first steps behind making something real is not fine. Yes, the pros will know how to wireframe, but they won’t know how to read your mind, heart, and passions.

There aren’t many organizations or individuals out there that can create really good products. They’re competing with insane salaries of silicon valley giants. If you find one, it’s just important that you keep them happy, and on your side, as they do to you.

You may be thinking that I’m full of shit, and that I just don’t want to waste my time doing proposals and contracts.

You’re right about the second half of that. I’m in the business of creating beautiful technology with my team; for ourselves and for our clients.

I am passionate about products. I am not passionate about contracts.

I’m one of the lucky few who has been able to witness a product go from just an idea into the hands of thousands of customers. It’s a thrill — but doing it right probably takes more than the outsiders assume. I absolutely love it, and I hope everyone in the world at least gives it a try at some point. I just hope that you can be realistic about it.

If I can ever be of any help in you creating your products, please feel free to ask me anything related to making an app on twitter or you can simply follow me and make my day :)

--

--

Vlad Lokshin

Co-founder and CEO @ TurtleOS.com. Always happy to help other founders/immigrants. Believer in fractional work.