Fantastic Four #49
(Apr. 1966)

Keep Mine Kirby

Vincent von Doom
2 min readFeb 1, 2013

--

Sometime last winter, I noticed my silver-age comic book collection had grown to a considerable size. Wanting to preserve it forever, I started thinking of ways to digitally archive my collection. After discussions with my DOM Wizard Michael Matyus, we set out to build a custom Tumblr theme to preserve and share with the world my comic books.

I have one simple rule for my collection: The comic book cover must be drawn by Jack Kirby. A bit of backstory for the non-fanboys: from 1941 until his death in 1994, Jack Kirby was the creative force driving comic book culture. Among many others, he created The Fantastic Four, The Avengers, and the New Gods.

Kirby is arguably the epitome of the American comic book, having created a visual language throughout his career that can still seen in comic books today. Kirby Covers documents my insane quest to collect every single comic book cover drawn by Jack Kirby. It’s been almost two years since I started my collection, and along the way I’ve been so lucky to learn about and experience the amazing body of work Kirby created in his lifetime.

I’ve currently posted 164 comics to Kirbycovers.com and continue to add more as my collection grows. I plan to stop when I’m dead.

--

--