What will change when I lose 70 pounds in 2 years?

Vivian Vo
2 min readMay 9, 2023

--

Two years ago, I lost 100 pounds, with people first noticing the weight loss after 40 pounds and dramatic changes starting at around 70 pounds. The weight loss had a significant impact on the author’s face, making it less round and revealing larger features. The body shape changed, but everything became less substantial, leading I to wear Spanx or tight crop pants under tunics to keep excess skin in check. People who had not seen me in over a year did not recognize me, and I had to get a new ID card at work. I feels that they look younger than their age and that they are still adjusting to the change.

In response to a comment on their weight loss journey,i disclosed that in 2014, they lost 105 pounds in nine months after undergoing bariatric surgery. However, in 2017, their life fell apart, and they gained back 78 pounds of the weight me had lost.I underwent several traumatic events, including my husband’s financial abuse, job loss, and my dog’s death. The stress led to emotional eating, and I regained a significant amount of weight. I remortgaged my house, cashed in investments, and asked my father for money to pay back my husband’s debt. In the beginning of 2019, I left their husband, enrolled in university, and started to move on from the past.

In April 2020, I contracted COVID-19 and lost six pounds that week due to loss of taste and smell. I decided to try and lose four more pounds, which I accomplished in two weeks. Over the past two years, I lost 125 pounds, and I are now in third year of university and pursuing stand-up comedy. I acknowledged that they were initially scared of regaining the weight, which happened, and I felt like a failure. Life events pushed me to try again, and I succeeded. I encourages others to take small steps towards goals and prioritize them. I feel proud of myr accomplishments and grateful for the opportunities i have had.

--

--