Tattoos! What do they mean to me?

Vivek
2 min readDec 17, 2022

--

As a person interested in human psychology, I have had the opportunity to read many of the individual’s stories. Individuals adopt things to escape reality or to divert their mind for temporary happiness. Some people tend to go on a shopping spree, few go on a hibernation, some hit the gyms and it goes on. These are the incidents that I have read and came across which highlights part of human behavior.

I am writing this because I had lately realized a similar phenomenon developing inside me. I got inked earlier this year. While I got inked, I felt satisfied. I felt like I was in control of my life. Driving my life with steering in my hand is what I felt like. I felt powerful not literally but metaphorically. 20 days later, I got myself inked again. Almost a year has passed since then and I had not felt an ounce of regret of the tattoos I got. Contrary to what I had thought, I felt firmer and more stable. Anyway, I have started felling this urge again of getting inked. I feel it has less to do with the fact that I love tattoos and more to do with the fact that I want that feeling of having control over life. I feel this behavior is similar to going on a shopping spree and / or similar to going on a hibernation.

I had given enough thoughts on my tattoos when I was going to get one, however the second time I did not give much thought and got it immediately. I have always been a mountain person and love living in the midst of trees and lush green forests. Beaches are good too. However, there’s a feeling of closeness in the mountains. I was sure I was not getting something which I would ever regret. Anyway, I have come to realize now that the meaning of my tattoos was not in the tattoo but also on the fact that I have got inked. Getting something inked permanently gives a sense of satisfaction that you are the boss of your own life in some way or the other.

The above is the 1st tattoo and the 2nd tattoo is the one below.
https://www.buymeacoffee.com/vivek0408k9
Your own coffee vending machine.

If you find my writings worthwhile, you can buy me a coffee by clicking the link above.

--

--

Vivek

📚 Welcome to my whimsical world of words! 🌟I write about random things. Join me as we navigate the landscapes of the absurd and unconventional.