Bukit Kelam, Kalimantan

Going on nature replenishing experience in Kalimantan

Rajiv Louis
3 min readJan 5, 2016

--

by Rajiv Louis

I’ve been in love with animals from childhood when I was eight years old. I am very interested in endangered animals such as tigers, elephants, orangutans and others. I had wanted to be a veterinarian from since I was a little boy. I still care very much for wild animals.

So I was very grateful when I received the opportunity to reside in Indonesia. I had a better chance to be physically closer to endangered species, to watch them from very close by and get to know them better. At the same time I also see how paradigms are changing regarding tourism. The phrase ecotourism has become popular as people seek to explore and find out more about animals, the natural environment, and the interactions between nature and human society.

Danau Cermin, Kalimantan

There is such a huge potential for ecotourism to spur economic activity. Even the Southeast Kalimantan branch of the World Wildlife Foundation (WWF) a few years ago had published a statement that Kalimantan is the premiere Ecotourism Destination of the World. I’ve been lucky enough to have been blessed with the opportunity to visit places such as Pangkalan Bun (in Kalimantan), Bali, Lombok, Menado, Komodo Island, and other sites.

The way I see it there is such a huge potential in Kalimantan for ecotourism, that ecotourism in Indonesia should begin from Kalimantan. Here are two reasons:

1. Kalimantan As the World’s Lungs

Kalimantan Island, sometimes also called Borneo, has a very important role as the World’s supplier of global Carbon-Dioxide-to-Oxygen conversion, effectively acting as the Earth’s lungs with its 40,8 million hectares of forest. This huge forest area has conservation functions and is a forest wildlife preserve and a tropical rainforest as the Earth’s lungs.

I see tropical rainforests as Indonesia’s most precious natural treasure. Just how big Kalimantan is, I am so sure that Kalimantan has such a magnet for travelers who love the richness of nature. Kalimantan holds an incredible power with much potential in forest landscape, hills, rivers, the orangutan, and other endemic local animals.

There is so much ecotourism potential in Kalimantan among them at the Betung Kerikun national park, Sentarum Lake, Lebian Leboyan animal corridor, Paloh, Bukit Baka Bukit Raya national park, Sebangau, Gunung Lumut, the Muller Schwanner landscape, the Kayan Mentarang national park, Tarakan, Derawan Islands, and West Kutai.

2. Kalimantan’s Rich Biodiversity

As a tropical forest island, Kalimantan is located right on the Earth’s equator, and it is known as the ecosystem with the largest biodiversity in the world. Around 80% of the living Earth’s biodiversity lives in this ecosystem of Kalimantan’s various forests and rivers. The high rainfall rate has made it a very inviting & welcoming place for so many species of plants and animals.

Kalimantan is known to be home to the orangutans, honey bears, white monkey, pigmy elephant, green tortoise, and the owa. In addition there are over 301 species of birds which depend on the place. Fifteen of them are birds who have migrated from other locations.

Bukit Telang, Kalimantan

My experience when visiting orangutan conservation sites such as Pangkalan Bun and Tanjung Puting, I am so amazed at the orangutan. It saddens me how the orangutan’s presence in Kalimantan would deteriorate without protection.

I wish for more private conservation centers in Indonesia, especially Kalimantan, Sumatra and Sulawesi. If there is future chance & opportunity, I would have 10 thousand hectares of land for Indonesian private animal conservation.The endangered endemic local animals are not for display in a zoo, I think. We should push more efforts towards animal protection, and in addition zoos can be another tool to help with urgent captive breeding of these animal.

--

--