Bookoffholic_bookwart
2 min readDec 28, 2019

Remembering my grandma

I know several people would have wrote about their grandmother, especially, the maternal one.we may not properly understand their intention of why they wrote it but after losing my sweet, petite, cute grandma, I think I get them well now.

My gran (I used to call her nani as we are ethnically from maharashtra)has been diabetic for the past 15 years and it worsened year by year. A hospital visit was really common for her. So, this time when she was admitted for kidney problem, we thought she will return as usual but never guessed she will leave us forever.

A little info about her:

Her name is p.prema. she was born in chennai, tamilnadu, married in karnataka and spent her last days back her in Chennai with grandpa and our famiy. She was 72 years old. I’ve never seen her scold anyone. Raise voice on anyone or even dropped a vessel in kitchen.

She loves cooking and a good afternoon nap. She lost her 1st born child and because of that she lived with a broken heart throughout her life.

Even if she didnt work or earn, she was a true master in saving and nurturing the family. Even during the last days she will save money from grandpa(typically smuggling 🤣) and gave us as pocket money.

She is my mom’s love, life and leverage. I don’t know how mom is going to get through this lose but I hope gran will always be there with us and her and guard us throughout our life.

We miss you a lot nani.