Are you a data hoarder?

Panayotis Vryonis
1 min readJan 15, 2015

I am, and I’d like to hear from you.

Here is the thing. I admit it. I’m a data hoarder.

I’m the person who tries to keep data for ever. I still have a number of Iomega Zip disks (I have the drives too), floppy disks, CDs with some of the very first Linux distributions. I keep all my photos and videos. I’ll rip my DVDs and keep the iso images. I’ll keep my favourite podcast MP3s —and I’ll even go back and search online for the ones I didn’t and download and save them. I still have my old projects written in PHP 2, back in the late 90s. Backups of websites that died more than 10 or 15 years ago.

I know I’m not alone. Who are you? Are you a collector of some specific kind of data? Do you keep everything? I’d like to know. Please drop me a line on twitter (@vrypan), send me an email (vrypan@gmail.com), or leave a comment here, or on the hackernews thread.

Panayotis Vryonis is the founder of Longaccess and BigStash.

--

--