A longer post for the weekend, enjoy!

VSCO Bro
6 min readJul 23, 2017

I asked you guys what you wanted to see next and I got quite a few responses (don’t worry, a lot more articles will be coming so I wrote them all down). One of the responses was to write an article about apps, so people could find new apps. In this article I want to share the types of apps I use on a daily basis.

Social Media

I use quite a lot of social media apps, these are my most used ones:

Instagram, you guessed it, is my most used of the bunch. I use it to manage both vsco.bro and my personal account. I like the design, I only use it on mobile since the Windows version sucks.

Snapchat is my second favorite social media app. Even though the developers aren’t that fond of Android I still like to use the app. The streaks are a nice addition to the experience, as well as the filters and stickers. Snap Maps had some people worried, but I think it’s a cool feature, if you just customize the settings about who can see where you are.

Telegram I use for a group chats within the Tech community. There are some IG’ers on Telegram as well where I talk with. I mostly use Whatsapp for friends/family though. Telegram’s desktop app is also very nice.

Productivity

My set of productivity apps consists of Todoist, Evernote and 5217.

Todoist is a task manager, I use it to — yes — manage my tasks. I throw all my personal, instagram and school related tasks into the app. I still make a todo list on paper almost every day, but this app is useful for keeping track of future tasks, or recurring ones (like watering my plants haha). The devs are hard workers, since the app looks amazing and the Windows version works perfect for me too. (Todoist great job!)

Evernote is my note-taking app of choice. I use it for personal and Instagram-related notes. The Android app is quite nice, maybe a bit too cluttered but it works for me. I like the reminders option and the overall look of the app. It’s the best note taking app for me. The Windows version… Well let’s say it could be a bit more modern. (Evernote I hope you agree).

5217 is an app by Francisco Franco that I don’t use at the moment, but when I have school work to do I use it. It’s an app that gives you 52 minutes to work and after that period let’s you take a break of 17 minutes. For me this works, since 52 minutes is the perfect amount of time to get things done and even keeps me motivated to continue doing my work (since I’m usually in the middle of something when the timer goes off). The app looks simple, yet elegant.

Wallpaper

Backdrops is my most used wallpaper app. The app has 2 sections: Communtiy and Explore, with curated wallpapers that are sent in by users. The app also gives you a notification when a new daily wallpaper is available. This way I change my wallpaper almost every day.

MyWalls has a selection of very elegant wallpapers, with minimal options but also great looking nature pictures. I use this app when I want a more toned down look, whereas Backdrops usually has quite vibrant wallpapers.

Instagram is also a great place for new wallpapers, there are some accounts like @rizzysview that every once in a while post wallpapers of their shots.

Media

The cliche three? Maybe :)

Spotify is my music-streaming app of choice. Their playlists are great, like Discover Weekly. There are also some Instagrammers who have their playlists on there, like @gallucks. The desktop app looks good, although it has some quirks on Windows. I like that it has an Android TV option as well. I’m also trying Apple Music right now, so stay tuned for an article on that as well!

YouTube is the best app for small videos and video that have my interest, mostly tech videos. I like being productive, but when it’s time to chill I use YouTube.

Netflix is essential when it comes to media consumption. I just watched the new trailer for Stranger Things season 2 and I can’t wait. Currently I’m watching American Horror Story.

Photography

Photos is the gallery app I use. I love the unlimited backup option, since I take a lot of pictures. I don’t ever need to worry about losing my pics, since they’re always there (and available on my pc as well).

VSCOCam is the app I use to edit all my pictures, both personal and those from Instagram. I love the filters, they are the main reason I use VSCO over other editing apps. The design is nice, even though it changes every month or so.

Snapseed I don’t use that often, but I use it when I’m not near my laptop and I need to do some mobile editing. The app is intuitive and quite advanced if you know what you’re doing. I really like the basic editing options, like exposure, that’s something VSCO still has to do better in my opinion.

I hope you like my selection of apps, maybe you found some new ones to use yourself. My question for today is:

What is your favorite app?

Comment here or send me an Instagram DM:

Have a nice sunday guys!

--

--