DIY: Free(-ish) Wooden Keyboard Wrist Rest

V Tamashiro
3 min readNov 23, 2018

--

I’ve been meaning to get one of those fancy wooden wrist rests for my mechanical keyboard, but they all seem unreasonably expensive. Even with Massdrop sales, they go for about $49 (with shipping) and up. Building one would’ve been a no-brainer if I had a wood shop, but since I don’t, I’ve been putting it off. I finally decided to give it a try this weekend.

Step 1: Loot The Neighborhood

Go out for a walk on a Sunday afternoon in San Francisco. If you’re local, then you’re aware of the unspoken “unwanted furniture goes to the curb” rule on Sundays. It’s great! I picked up half of an IKEA bed frame a few months ago to use for personal projects. I happen to have some of the wooden bed slats left over, which are perfect for the wrist rest I wanted to make.

Step 2: Gather Tools and Materials

I already had all of these in my toolbox:

  • Wood saw
  • Sandpaper
  • Table clips

All of them are fairly cheap and are useful in more than one project.

Step 3: Saw

Get down to business!

  • Measure keyboard length and mark wooden slat.
  • Cut slat with saw. (takes about a minute or less)

Step 4: Sand

I used a penny and a pencil to draw circles at two of corners on the wooden piece. I used those as guides for sanding the corners to give them a rounded look.

Step 5: Keep Sanding

I also drew some lines on both sides and the front to help me sand the top of the slat.

A lot more sanding. This is the part that took awhile, though it didn’t take more than an hour. Not too bad, IMO. If I had a sandpaper of 100 or lower, then it would’ve been a lot easier to sand. However, I chose to work with what I’ve got on hand, so I had to work a little bit harder :)

Step 6: Olive Oil Magic

Put a little bit of olive oil on a paper towel and rub the surface until it is evenly coated. The color is much more vibrant. Here’s the before and after:

Final Result

It’s really comfortable!

--

--