The Peach Garden

Willem Van Eck
1 min readMar 23, 2020

--

I sit in my peach garden, and watch the flowers grow

Its cherry trees have blossomed, their petals fall like snow

The gardener here says I should go and brave the world again

He says I can do better, to stay here is a sin.

But I’ve led armies out before to conquer all I could

Young and overconfident of what we understood

We tore through countless enemies to show that we were tough

But no amount of victories would ever be enough

The price of our ambition was a world set ablaze

And misery to fill our hearts for our remaining days.

This lesson learned, all of my troops deserted me so I

Returned to my peach garden, where all my dreams will die

Sagamiko Sunset: Last Year’s Cherry Blossom Season

--

--

Willem Van Eck

World traveler, marathon runner, and amateur hour poet!