How is it like returning home after living abroad

Juanchin
3 min readSep 22, 2022
Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

Returning home after your adventure living abroad may be welcomed with mixed feelings, notoriously positive feelings. Such as bringing your experiences, a new mindset, excitement for new challenges, etc.

For me, I was afraid I had changed too much, deep inside me, humbly, I knew I was different. I had a conversation about my fear of how things are going to be from now. I was away for a year in Europe, but to me, it felt like I was gone for five years or more.

A friend of mine told me, that I should bring every positive aspect of what I have learned in this experience.

Keep in check your expectations

You have lived your life abroad, and you have changed through your experiences of living, working, or studying abroad. As much as you have changed, so have your friends and family.

In the beginning, everyone will want to have time to see you, but once the effect has worn off after a few days, everyone will continue with their lives. It is totally understandable that it may hurt, you will have to accept that they’re getting on with their own lives without you.

You might feel misunderstood or out of place from time to time

There might be times when you reference or reminisce about the place where you’ve lived. A…

--

--