DJ Sky Jetta Talks Career Inspirations, Being A Tour DJ, And More

WAEDS
3 min readJan 19, 2023

When did you begin your DJ career?

I began deejaying in 2014 after dropping out of school. But the career part of it didn’t come until a couple of years later. I’d say in 2017 is when I quit my job to do this as a full-time career. The opportunities picked up to the point where I couldn’t juggle having a side job anymore.

At what point did you realize deejaying was the creative lane you were supposed to be in?

I noticed I could do this Deejaying thing very early in my career. Honestly, all it took was for people to enjoy my Deejaying for me to be all in.

How do you harness the power of controlling the crowd with the spin of a turntable and the press of a button?

Confidence. Some folks have to believe it. As I’m spinning, if I’m looking dry as I perform, so will the audience. There’s no control if there’s no confidence. However, I start the crowd off with what they want to hear and read them as I go. As time goes on, I lead them to where I want them to go.

Talk about some of the artists you’ve worked with and how those relationships began.

I’m the tour DJ for an artist who goes by Baby Tate. We first connected by accident as I was the DJ for an event during Art Basel in Miami. Baby Tate had a surprise performance and at the time, she didn’t have a DJ. I was subjected to playing her set, on the spot. Months later I had a run-in with her manager and asked if she was still without a DJ. Her manager said yes and that’s where it all began. Just from me asking.

You’ve deejayed for major corporations including Nike, Ivy Park, Tidal, and Footlocker, to name a few. Is there a distinct difference between corporate opportunities compared to event or artist opportunities?

There’s a big difference. Corporate events can sometimes be limited to what I can play. I have to think of the context of songs, explicit language, and even the artist of every song before playing. For example, I was asked by Nike to not play Kanye’s music. As far as doing my own events, I’m more creative with what I play. You’ll hear so many mixed genres and artists you’d never typically hear in the same DJ set. The crowd loves it!

What’s next for you?

There are a lot of cool things coming in 2023. I’ll be dropping my music for the very first time. I’ve really been polishing my sound as an artist for some years now and I think I’m ready to expose what I’ve been working on. Also, I’ll be modeling for some really cool global campaigns. I’m super excited to share more once that time comes.

To learn more about her, CLICK or TAP HERE.

--

--