Positive Reflection

Wajeeha Mumtaz
2 min readFeb 4, 2022

--

I had my fair share of positive activities in this 3-month journey but the Photojournal activity made me question Humanity and its moral values.

I made a photo album of the litter we do on the streets. Before this activity, I never liked these garbage dumps. In this album, I compared posh Lahore with dowdy parts of Lahore. During the activity, I attributed the results to the residents of each area.

I one-sidedly decided that posh areas are clean due to the attitude of people and common markets are dirty because people there are not careful. We have community recycle bins but we do not care to throw our trash inside the bin. We just through it randomly around the bin or a perfect corner of the street. My deduction was to raise awareness of these people.

After a few days I was coming back from college, I was eating chips. I pick my sister from her work on my way back. Her office is in the market. While I was waiting for her I finished eating my chips. I randomly dumped that wrapper on the street. While I was cleaning my hand I realized what I had just done.

All the solutions I had mentioned in the PW went through my mind. I immediately got off of my rikshaw and picked up the wrapper. Then I started noticing the behavior of people around me in public.

Most of the people who never littered on campus, littered in public areas. why? because they were following the example of others. It was not their mindset but the innate learning of JAISA DEKHO WAISA KRO. They saw trash around themselves so they also did the same. On the opposite when they saw a clean area. they put the trash inside the can carefully or just carry it with themselves.

Now if I reflect I have been part of this culture for a long time. Now is the time to create the best example for the next generation. I am trying to create the best, clean and honest example for my peers, nephew, and nieces to follow.

--

--

Wajeeha Mumtaz

Senior year college student aspiring to travel abroad.