Ode to a Multi Hat Wearer

Walking Elm3
Fearless She Wrote
Published in
2 min readJan 9, 2020
Photo by 𝓜𝓪𝓻𝔂 𝓞𝓵𝓸𝓾𝓶𝓲 on Unsplash

Have you ever come across someone who can seem to do anything and everything? I used to have one such person in my life. In addition to being a mother, grandmother, wife, and daughter, she was also a full-time teacher, an amazing cook, baker, seamstress, and gardener. She also fixed small water leaks around the house, repaired electrical cables and on occasion, had given her family home a fresh coat of paint.

It still puzzles me to this day how she picked up these wide-ranging skills during a time that predates the internet.

But I think I remember her saying that she found an interest to learn them so she could teach at high school. In turn, her students taught her to be a better teacher.

She’s been on my mind this past couple of weeks when I chanced upon the following poem I’d typed into my phone a few years back. I’d written it to lift her spirits when she was facing cancer.

It’s been six years now since Mum graced us with her physical presence but I’ll forever be grateful for having her in my life.

Our Wish For You

Remember the day you married Dad,
You were filled with such happiness you always wished you had.

Remember the day each child was born,
So much love, gone are the days forlorn.

Remember the peace that surrounded you when your fears were unfounded,
The Lord saw you challenged, in his love He kept you grounded.

Remember the strength that filled you despite an uphill battle,
Your vigour, your fortitude, you’re a woman of mettle.

Therefore beloved Mum, hear our wish and prayer,
In your heart we hope you bear.

Happiness, love, peace, strength, you deserve them,
Because Mum, you are our family gem.

--

--

Walking Elm3
Fearless She Wrote

Gains inspiration by walking everywhere. Carb lover.