Digger remastered / wikipedia

Digger, the Video Game

A MS-DOS Game That Made Me Addicted In

Walter Lam
2 min readJun 27, 2013

--

My father bought me an IBM AT-compatible Personal Computer when I was twelve years ago. At that time, my father wanted me to learn how to use a PC to enhance my studies and work in the future. But when I learnt the very first few MS-DOS commands, I was, as same as most kids, used my PC for entertainment purposes in most cases.

My first touch of computer games is Digger.

I recalled that my uncle passed me a 5.25-inch floppy disk which contains many software. He ran Digger and Alley Cat to me when he tried to explain how to use the Floppy Disk Drive, Copy and Delete Files and execute a MS-DOS program. With Digger and Alley Cat, my uncle also taught me what is “CGA” “EGA” and “VGA”.

I use the cursor keys on the PC Keyboard to play Digger. Eating the emeralds, Killing the monsters by dropping a gold bag or by shooting them, get into bonus mode to score higher marks……Digger is a simple and exciting game. It does not need to think like playing simulation games.

There is one funny thing about Digger. The speed of the game is relative to the speed of the CPU of your PC. I tried to play Digger on a PC with a AMD-made 8088 CPU and have a “Turbo” button for overclocking CPU (“Turbo” switch is quite common in IBM-compatible PC in late 1980s for instant boosting the running MHz of CPU). Without overclocking, Digger runs very slowly and you will not have any interest to play with. When the “Turbo” button is pressed, Digger runs a bit faster.

Digger is really old-school arcade video game and it does not match today’s standard. It brings me a lot of fun and let me be interested in exploring the knowledge of personal computer.

--

--