WP2: Wanderlust | Big Bear

Ashley Wang
4 min readOct 22, 2021

--

August 2011 | The lake reflected the sun’s light so brightly I was almost blinded. Squinting as I held my fishing rod, I felt a slight tug. Being eight years old, I shrugged it off, thinking the hook got caught on a rock. But before I knew it, I was being pulled towards the large body of water by a fish that I had caught. Luckily, my uncle and grandfather grabbed hold of the rod before I could actually fall into the lake. Later that night, I bonded with my grandmother over her family history, as I helped her cook the fish for dinner. It was this trip where I made some of my fondest memories with my family that we still talk about to this day.

November 2020 | I woke up at 6 A.M. to get started on homework and lectures before going on a 3.2 mile hike. (Yes, I was unlucky to have school during a vacation.) I was reluctant to go on the hike, given that the weather was in the 40’s. But it was during this hike where I had the longest and the most honest conversation with my uncle. Had I chosen to stay back in the cabin, I would have missed out on a meaningful dialogue with him. That is not to say that my uncle and I weren’t close, but we were able to connect at a deeper emotional level, especially since the passing of my grandfather (my uncle’s father) just five months prior. This particular trip gave me a stronger bond with a family member, which I believe is immeasurable in value.

Evidently, my trips to Big Bear were extremely family-oriented. But more, it was outdoors and required me to be active, both literally and figuratively. In the literal sense, I was in nature, whether that was fishing, hiking, skipping rocks, or running up hills as I chased my cousin. Figuratively, I was actively making memories, actively engaging in meaningful conversations, and growing fond of physical activity.

I was active as a child — I played softball and swam competitively — but I never enjoyed them enough to put in more effort than I absolutely had to. However, with my most cherished memories being associated with the outdoors, I grew to love being in the sun and being active. Being active is now a big part of my life in times of sadness, stress, and anxiety. Now, exercising, going for long walks around my neighborhood, or even suntanning are parts of my routine, especially when I need to clear my head or get into a better headspace. The mental, emotional, and physical benefits from it have been life changing.

I have been able to work through big mental obstacles by myself, which I believe has made me more resilient during times of hardship. During times of frustration, I am able to talk myself through the process of finding solutions, instead of falling victim to a cycle of negativity that once consumed me during my middle school years. Further, I believe that I’ve developed a calmer approach to stress or tense situations because I am confident in this coping mechanism that I found for myself. Having a calm headspace has, in turn, dissuaded me from making irrational or impulsive decisions that could have negatively affected my relationships with peers, friends, or family.

For me, mental health and physical health go hand-in-hand. However, both are important issues that many struggle with. It is important to raise awareness about these sensitive issues that affect so many worldwide. More importantly, it is critical for every individual to never give up on finding things — reading, writing, meditation, exercising, etc. — that bring comfort, familiarity, and peace. Once these coping mechanisms are discovered, it helps one better manage difficult emotions and adjust to stressful environments, while also maintaining a strong emotional well-being. Physical activity will not be everyone’s coping mechanism, like it is one of mine, but a coping mechanism is extremely beneficial to our mental health.

I attribute all of these personal discoveries to my trips to Big Bear. The positive association between Big Bear and physical health has translated to bettering my mental health, which I am immensely grateful for.

Next: San Francisco

--

--