WP2: Wanderlust | Vietnam

Ashley Wang
3 min readOct 22, 2021

--

During the winter break of senior year, the two weeks between the end of 2019 and the start of 2020, I had the opportunity to travel to Vietnam. Initially, I was neither overjoyed nor disappointed to go, but little did I know it would be a trip that was enlightening and shift my priorities. My unique experience here with my family was refreshing and I do not believe that I could have learned as much as I did from anywhere else. Vietnam is a special place to me because it was the last family trip I took with my grandfather before he passed, taught me the value of gratitude, and “checked” my privilege.

I knew that my family had history in Vietnam, but I was unaware of the extent to which it was rooted. My grandfather was a translator for the United States Army during the Vietnam War and went to great lengths to evacuate his family — his wife (my grandmother), my mom, and my two uncles — and provide them with a better life in the U.S.. We were able to visit the exact port they escaped from, which gave insight into my family history. As cliché as it sounds, it was in this moment where I truly realized everything I have to be grateful for. I don’t have to flee during a time of war, worry about not having running water or food, or stress over significant financial constraints. This gratitude that I felt and continue to feel contributed greatly to my evolution because it reminded me about the idea of positivity and being aware. I now approach conflict and moments of hardship with more optimism, which reduces the stress that my perfectionist self can exacerbate. Further, this trip made me aware of the privilege that I have, even as a female Asian American.

As we traveled through the country, I noticed that it was still very much a developing country. While main tourist attractions were more modern and updated, a big part of the country was still underdeveloped. For example, the elementary school that my uncle and my mother attended didn’t have the luxury of getting expensive, neatly built playgrounds on their campus. Instead, young students were kicking around soccer balls on the concrete floor and chased each other down dirt roads to see who could get in line first at shops for a snack. Yet, they all seemed to be truly having fun and happy to be making memories with their friends, despite their lack of resources. Additionally, our tour guide advised us against using the tap water from hotel sinks because of the possibility of uncleanliness. This changed my perspective on how I view my privilege, such that even though I may face certain struggles being an Asian American, there are many more who face struggles that directly threaten their health and their existence as a human being. My “first world problems” are quite shallow compared to the obstacles that these kids face, such as the uncertainty of clean water. This shift in perspective encouraged me to approach my life with more humility and grace. Knowing that there are people with much less, but who are far more grateful pushed me to be the same. This has also encouraged me to pursue a career in the healthcare industry, so I can help those who may be unable to help themselves because of possible constraints financially, economically, or socially. These traits that I took back with me have influenced my identity so as to have uncovered a passion and checked the many privileges that I was once blind to.

--

--