Poster — Villa Savoye

hilda wang
2 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

Style

style choice: Black & White Abstraction

Content

This week I had some readings for my Modern Architecture class and excitingly, we learned one of Le Corbusier’s most famous piece Villa Savoye which marked a milestone in modern architecture.

In Villa Savoye, Le Corbusier practiced a lot of his ideas about modern architecture. His ideology was to create harmony using clean and basic geometrical forms. Some elements in Villa Savoye such as ‘pilotis’ (the free-standing supports) , long strip window, cleanly curved walls proved his mastery in constructing fantastic building using different primary shapes.

Therefore, I thought it was a good idea to create a poster to portray Villa Savoye in a geometrical and abstract way to follow Le Corbusier’s design. Also, I chose to use only black and white since I felt that it could further express the power of geometry and rationality in architecture.

Process & Result

I first found some images of Villa Savoye online as reference and I did some sketches to use simple shapes to depict the villa. Then I moved to Illustrator and crafted it out. In the poster, I have emphasized some elements such as the strip window that I have mentioned earlier to accentuate the unique features of the building and the viewers could thus recognize the building more easily.

Ideas for Future Improvement

  • Typography could be more interesting, such as transforming the text into another element of the building

--

--