5 Tips to Get Real Attention With Your Blog

wasabi
3 min readAug 29, 2016

If you are one of the people who is about to start out your freelance business, try to promote your companies’s products/services, or just to meet your desire for recongniton from others by hanging around on the Internet, running a blog is one of the best and firm options to make your way.

So, why should you listen to me? *Cough cough* Well , my blog has about 50K visit per month on average with about 14K unique visitors. (I know that there is rank above rank!) But, with this amount of audience, I manage to pay my rent purely from Google Adsense and Affiliates, and get some direct bookings for my translation/writing job through my blog.

Here are 5 tips that might be useful for you;

Don’t be too opinionated at an early stage!

Lots of people think that writing blog post means writing your opinion. In a sense, it’s true, and it should be like that to make your blog original. However, I would recommend not to be too opinionated, especially when you have zero audience at an early stage.

The most important thing that you should keep in mind is that nobody cares your opnion if you’re not recognized by people, and that is the reason why you want to get some attention by writing blog!

Think about it. What if a stranger was screaming his/her opnion on politics on the street, you probably wouldn’t give a shit to what he/she says, wheras you would at leaset stop and listen if Cameron Diaz was doing the same. (I would definitely do if it was Scarlett Johansson though.)

Writing your own opinion is tempting, but you are not either Diaz nor Johansson. You are just a stranger on the Internet at an early stage when you are not recognized by anyone.

Openess is №1

From my experience, the best way to get some attention is to share something useful or practical. Try to share the information that you can imagine yourself googling it.

Topics can be varied, but preferably you should write something that readers can relate to their ordinary life. For example, if you’re a traveller, maybe you can focus on what travel can teach in their ordinary life rather than only putting some beautiful pictures from your gorgeous travels.

Some people are worried about openly sharing their precious tips for free on the Internet. However, people will be interested in your honesty if you keep doing this, and it will lead a huge trust on your blog ending up getting more attention. Openess is the key!

Write EVERYDAY

Writing everyday is good in 3 points; improving SEO, building a trust and making your routine. I know writing everyday is tough, but you can set a certain period (eg. 3 months, 6 months ,etc,.), and write everyday.

Which bakery do you trust, a bakery that is opened irregularly or the one that is opened everyday? There is no doubt that a business that is constantly making something and available for customer is more trustful.

Use your portrait pics effectively

This is kind of a technique that I found by chance. I’ve been a selfie enthusiast by nature who loves posing like a model and posting it on social media. So, I have put lots of my portrait pictures in almost every article. For a sad content, I used my sad-faced pic, for a happy content, I used my happy-faced photo.

Showing who I am and how I look gave a friendly impression to my readers, and made them feel like I am one of their friend, according to a feedback I got from my audience.

Write, and share on Social Media

Social Media such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram are must haves if you run your blog. Writing post is not enough to spread and make your post viral. I use Twitter and Facebook to share my post everytime I update my blog. Create your account if you don’t have, and don’t forget to follow me! :D

Twitter:https://twitter.com/wasabi_nomadik

Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/wsbilog/

--

--

wasabi

Decentralized and centralized at the same time!