21. Night Nurse (1931)

Movie Findings
2 min readMar 29, 2017

--

Directed by William A. Wellman
Written by Oliver H.P. Garrett and Charles Kenyon
Starring Barbara Stanwyck, Joan Blondell, and Ben Lyon

Barbara Stanwyck’s gratuitous undressing feels more perfunctory than sexy. I mean, she’s just getting changed. But the male gaze doesn’t care, so long as there’s some skin. In one early scene, rather than share a bed with a life-size model skeleton, Stanwyck’s Lora curls up under the covers with Miss Maloney, a fellow nurse played by Joan Blondell. Holding Maloney close, Lora’s beatific expression reveals a kind of Boston marriage-like intimacy: tender and indeterminately erotic, or maybe not erotic at all. Sixteen or seventeen years ago, weeping in my dorm room after watching Heavenly Creatures for the first time, I longed to be Pauline Parker. She could love and experience the world in ways that I, as a boy, couldn’t. It’s hard to put into words. That’s one reason we have the word queer, right? To name something that resists definition. Lora takes a chance on a gold-hearted bootlegger, who knows some guys who can take care of things. A drunk mother conspires with her chauffeur to starve her kids for their trust fund money. Lora unveils her power move: a silent stare, arms akimbo. The mother confesses the obvious fact she’s a dypsomaniac, a word I’ve only really encountered in overwritten lit fic and Foetus Interreuptus’s album Thaw, which, along with The Faint’s Danse Macabre, I bought in 2001 at Digital Ferret, the goth record store right off of South Street. That same year, a friend of mine was at a house party with the shop’s reputedly skeevie owner. At one point, so the story goes, the skeevie owner said something like, “Anyone who’s not giving me a blow job can leave.” My friend left. A number of young women stayed. 2001 had a lot going on. I dressed in drag that Halloween. At a party, I made out with a young woman from my college while my friends stood around us and cheered. I think the woman got embarrassed and ghosted. I left soon after. Still in drag, I stood outside the dorm and smoked cigarettes with the security guard. We did this pretty regularly. I told him about crushing on the woman from the party, even though I was sure nothing would come of it. The security guard shrugged. “Women,” he said. I offered him another cigarette before he had a chance to ask. Dude never flinched at my leopard print skirt or blonde wig, in part because he was a cool guy, and in part because this was art school, and he had probably seen everything.

--

--

Movie Findings

Fake movie reviews by Sasha (they/them) in Philly. Twitter: @alexyvee / Email: alexyvee at gmail. Blog on hold; new website coming soon.